The 124th Winter Bird Count: Find One Near You

By Kent McFarland November 28, 2023
Map of all CBC Counts can be found at https://arcg.is/1fH8re0.

The 124th Winter Bird Count will take place from December 14 through January 5. This is perhaps the longest running community science project in Vermont. Each count occurs in a designated circle, 15 miles in diameter, and is led by an experienced birder, or designated “compiler”. Read more to learn where Vermont counts are located, dates and compiler contact information.

The count originally began on Christmas Day in 1900 when ornithologist and legendary birder and ornithologist Frank Chapman posed an alternative to an earlier traditional holiday “side hunt.” Chapman proposed “hunting” birds to record their numbers. Instead of firing a shotgun, now we have an annual snapshot. Decades of data have added up to results envied by other scientists who don’t enjoy such a fleet of volunteer help, or creatures as easily seen and counted as birds.

While there is a specific methodology to the count and you need to count birds within an existing count circle, everyone can participate! If you are a beginning birder, you will be able to join a group that includes at least one experienced birdwatcher. If your home is within the boundaries of a count circle, then you can stay home and report the birds that visit your feeder or join a group of birdwatchers in the field. If you have never been on a count before and you want to participate in a this year, including feeder counting, please contact your count compiler prior to the date.

Would you like to explore the data from seasons past or see a map of count circles? Visit the Count home page to learn more.

Are you planning on adding your observations to Vermont eBird too? Check out this short article about helpful hints.

VERMONT COUNTS (view map):

Barnet
December 16, 2024
Contact: Jeff MacQueen – jmacqueen65@gmail.com

Bennington
December 16, 2023
Contact: Kevin Hemeon – kevinhemeon6@icloud.com

Brattleboro
December 16, 2023
Contact: Cory Ross – coryross24@gmail.com
https://www.sevtas.org/christmas-bird-count

Burlington (76th annual count)
December 17, 2023
Contact: Jeff Hullstrung – burlingtoncbc@gmail.com
Compiler: Larry Clarfeld – lclarfeld@gmail.com

Champlain Islands/St. Albans
December 17, 2023
Contact: Terry Marron – tgmarron@comcast.net

East Franklin County
December 30, 2023
Contact: Annette Goyne – annette.goyne@gmail.com

Ferrisburgh
December 16, 2023
Contact: Mike Winslow – mikekira@myfairpoint.net

Hanover-Norwich
January 1, 2024
Contact: Nancy Martin – borealdee@gmail.com

Hinesburg-Huntington
December 30, 2023
Contact: Paul Weiczoreck – mgcpw@gmavt.net

Hunger Mountain
December 29, 2023
Contact: Zach Cota-Weaver – zcotaweaver@gmail.com

Island Pond
December 28, 2023
Contact: maria@northwoodscenter.org

Lamoille County

Contact: Noel Dodge – noel.dodge@gmail.com

Mad River Valley/Northfield
December 15, 2023
Contact: info@madbirders.org

Middlebury
December 17, 2023
Contact: Jim Andrews – jandrews@vtherpatlas.org

Mt. Abraham
January 1 , 2024
Contact: Randy Durand – durand@gmavt.net

Plainfield/Montpelier
December 16, 2023
Contact: Sean Beckett – sean@northbranchnaturecenter.org
signup: https://northbranchnaturecenter.org/christmas-bird-count/

Plattsburgh, NY (reaches the VT Champlain islands)
December 17, 2023
Contact: Michael Burgess – mburg005@plattsburgh.edu

Randolph Area
December 16, 2023
Brian Lowe – vtbirdguy@yahoo.com

Rutland
December 30, 2023
Contact: Sue Elliott – birding@rutlandcountyaudubon.org

Saxton’s River
December 16, 2023
Contact: Don Clark – sapsbks@gmail.com

Springfield
December 17, 2023
Contact: Marianne Walsh – mwalsh@vermontel.net

Tri-County (Essex and nearby towns)
December 16, 2023
Contact: Jason Crooks – mwongera@hotmail.com

Winhall/Windham
December 16, 2023
Contact: Ruth Stewart – birder_rws@outlook.com

Woodstock (49th count)
December 14, 2023
Contact: Sally Laughlin – sblaughlininvt@gmail.com