News & Features

The 118th Annual Christmas Bird Count in Vermont

The 118th Christmas Bird Count will take place from December 14  through January 5. This is perhaps the longest running citizen science project in Vermont. Each count occurs in a designated circle, 15 miles in diameter, and is led by an experienced birder, or designated “compiler”. Read more to learn where Vermont CBCs are located, date of counts and compiler contact information.

The longest running citizen science program in the world, the count originally began on Christmas Day in 1900 when ornithologist and legendary birder and ornithologist Frank Chapman posed an alternative to an earlier traditional holiday “side hunt.” Chapman proposed “hunting” birds to record their numbers. Instead of firing a shotgun, now we have an annual snapshot. Decades of data have added up to results envied by other scientists who don’t enjoy such a fleet of volunteer help, or creatures as easily seen and counted as birds.

While there is a specific methodology to the CBC and you need to count birds within an existing Christmas Bird Count circle, everyone can participate! If you are a beginning birder, you will be able to join a group that includes at least one experienced birdwatcher. If your home is within the boundaries of a Christmas Bird Count circle, then you can stay home and report the birds that visit your feeder or join a group of birdwatchers in the field. If you have never been on a CBC before and you want to participate in a count this year, including feeder counting, please contact your count compiler prior to the count.

Would you like to explore the data from seasons past or see a map of count circles? Visit the Christmas Bird Count home page to learn more.

Are you planning on adding your observations to Vermont eBird too? Check out this short article about helpful hints.

VERMONT COUNTS (view map):

Barnet
Jan. 1, 2018
Contact: Charlie Brown – ccbrowne63@gmail.com

Bennington
Dec. 23, 2017
Contact: Kevin Hemeon –kevinhemeon6@icloud.com

Brattleboro
Dec. 16 2017
Contact: Cory Ross – coryross24@gmail.com

Burlington (the 70th Anniversary!)
Dec. 17, 2017
Contact:  Shirley Johnson – rjsj489@comcast.net
Compiler: Eric Lazarus – lazericus@gmail.com.

Champlain Islands/St. Albans
Dec. 17, 2017
Contact: Terry Marron – tgmarron@comcast.net

East Franklin County
Dec. 30, 2017
Contact: Eddy Edwards – eddy_edwards@fws.gov

Ferrisburgh
Dec. 16, 2017
Contact: Mike Winslow – mikekira@myfairpoint.net

Hanover-Norwich
Jan. 1, 2018
Meet in front of Hopkins Center in Hanover, N.H. at 7am
Contact: Daniel Crook – dc178@hotmail.com

Hinesburg-Huntington
Dec. 30, 2017
Contact: Paul Wieczoreck – mgcpw@gmavt.net

Hunger Mountain (NEW!)
Dec. 26, 2017
Contact: Zach Cota-Weaver- zcotaweaver@gmail.com

Island Pond
Dec. 15, 2017
Contact: maria@northwoodscenter.org

Lamoille County
December 23, 2017
Contact: Noel Dodge – noel.dodge@gmail.com

Mad River Valley/Northfield
Dec. 15, 2017
Contact: Mad Birders – info@madbirders.org

Middlebury
Dec. 17, 2017
Contact: Jim Andrews – jandrews@middlebury.edu

Mt. Abraham
Dec. 16, 2017
Contact: Randy Durand – durand@gmavt.net

Plainfield
Dec. 16, 2017
Contact: Chip Darmstadt – chip@NorthBranchNatureCenter.org

Plattsburhg, NY (reaches the VT Champlain islands)
Dec. 17, 2017
Contact: Michael Burgess – mburg005@plattsburgh.edu

Randolph Area

Contact: Brian Lowe – vtbirdguy@yahoo.com

Rutland
Dec. 30, 2017
Contact:Rutland Audubon – birding@rutlandcountyaudubon.org

Saxton’s River
Dec. 16, 2017
Contact: Don Clark – sapsbks@gmail.com

Springfield
Dec. 17, 2017
Contact: Hugh Putnam – putnams@vermontel.net or 802-886-8430

Winhall/Windham
Dec. 30, 2017
Contact: Ruth Stewart – birder_rws@outlook.com

Woodstock (43rd Year!)
Dec. 14, 2017
Contact: Sally Laughlin – slaughlin@myfairpoint.net